Skip to content ↓

Old Warwickians

OW Book Club - Books chosen

The following books have been read and discussed by our OW Book Groups

The Afternoon Book Group - The Survivors

9.3.21 Tues/Weds The Sense of an Ending Julian Barnes
13.4.21 Tues Behind the Beautiful Forevers Katherine Boo
14.4.21 Weds Vile Bodies Evelyn Waugh
11.5.21 Tues A Gentleman in Moscow Amor Towles
12.5.21 Weds Sapiens Yuval Noah Harari
9.6.21 Weds The Clay Machine Gun Victor Pelerin
15.6.21 Tues The Fox Frederick Forsyth
14.7.21 Weds The Midnight Library Matt Haig
20.7.21 Tues Americanah Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
11.8.21 Weds Any Human Heart William Boyd
31.8.21 Tues The Porpoise Mark Haddon
15.9.21 Weds A Song for the Dark Times Ian Rankin
13.10.21 Weds There are places in the world where rules are less important than kindness Carlo Rovelli
19.10.21 Tues Lanny Max Porter
10.11.21 Weds Stories of your life and others Ted Chiang
30.11.21 Tues The Jealousy Man Jo Nesbo
8.12.21 Weds Gilead Marilynne Robinson
18.1.22 Tues Hamnet Maggie O'Farrell
19.1.22 Weds A Perfect Spy John Le Carre
16.2.22 Combined Unreasonable Behaviour, an autobiography Dan McCullin
16.3.22 Combined Ghostwritten David Mitchell
27.4.22 Weds, 16:30 Shuggie Bain Douglas Stuart
8.6.22 Weds 16:30 Company of Liars Karen Maitland


The Evening Book Group

8.3.21  Mon/Thurs The Sense of an Ending Julian Barnes
12.4.21 Mon The Discomfort of Evening Marieke Lucas Rijneveld
15.4.21 Thurs Reservoir 13 Jon McGregor
13.5.21 Thurs Telex from Cuba Rachel Kushner
24.5.21 Mon Hamnet Maggie O'Farrell
10.6.21 Thurs Hamnet Maggie O'Farrell
12.7.21 Mon Going to the Wars John Verney
15.7.21 Thurs The Eight Mountains Paolo Cognetti
16.8.21 Mon English Monsters John Scudamore
9.9.21 Thurs A Gentleman in Moscow
and (whatever we can manage of) Sapiens 
Amor Towles
Yuval Noah Harari
27.9.21 Mon Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup John Carreyrou
13.10.21 Thurs We Are Satellites Sarah Pinsker
1.11.21 Mon The Leopard Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa
17.11.21 Thurs A Tale of Two Cities Charles Dickens
  Mon Diary of a Young Naturalist Dara McAnulty
  Thurs Midland James Flint
9.3.22 Combined Sudden Appearance Claire North
13.4.22 Weds The Promise Damon Galgut
25.5.22 Weds, 8pm The New Confessions
Death and the Penguin
William Boyd
Andrei Kurkov

If you are interested in joining an OW Book Group, please email a.douglas@warwickschool.org.