Skip to content ↓

Old Warwickians

2009, OWA 1st XI vs School

OWA 1st XI vs School 1st XI, 4 July 2009

2009 OW 1st XIKamal Chhibber won the toss for OWs and elected to bat, format 50/50 with 10 overs max’ per bowler. Conditions: Dry and sunny, pitch soft.

OWs were 27 for 1 after 9 overs with ANC retired hurt after a couple of overs (owing to an injury picked up the day before) and the Captain out for 7!

Roots joined opener Rigby and saw them recover to 176 after 40 overs, a solid partnership of 144, showing patience, control and measured shot selection from the pair. Good to watch.

Gareth Roots finished on 114 (9 fours and 2 sixes).

Thom Rigby scored 55 which included 6 fours.

There was momentum but only 10 overs left and the rest of the OW batsmen failed to capitalize on this platform, of the remainder only Tim Austin reached double figures (10) and the innings closed on 219 off 48.1 overs.

In reply, school openers put on 87 for the 1st wicket (16 overs) and the 2nd wicket produced another 64 (total 151 off 36 overs). The OW bowlers succeeded in slowing the scoring rate with:

Chris Carr 1-41 off 10, Ben Carr 0-36 off 10, Will Melly 1-61 off 6 and Ed Melly 1-33 off 10 overs.

There was never quite enough pressure with only 69 required off the last 14 overs, but the side pulled together and stuck to the task hoping and expecting something could happen. Two further wickets fell including an excellent stumping by Streeter off Roots and school reached the total in 44 overs.

In a post match presentation, Tony said that he felt that despite the 1st and last overs, OWs could take some heart from their performance, good cricket had been played by both sides and there were some notable individual performances.

We were fortunate to have OW immediate Past President, David Stevens available to present the Peter Treadaway salver to the winning Captain, Joe Melly, after which we all retired the Bowling Green to discuss the much anticipated and eagerly awaited tour to Sidmouth in August!

For OWs: K Chhibber (Capt), T Rigby, A N Crockert, D G Roots, T Austin, E Melly, W Melly, N Reay, B Carr, C Carr, A Streeter (Wkt).

Scorers: C Boast and R Cumberland

Umpires: D Ludlow and GAT

Cups were awarded as follows:

Batting Cup: D G Roots

Bowling Cup: A E Wilkinson

Fielding Cup: A Streeter