The Warwick School Story
Warwick School is the oldest surviving boys' grammar school in the world. School archivist Gervald Frykman charts here the history of the school through the centuries, from its early beginnings at the time of King Edward the Confessor, to the 21st century. Click on the menu bar for The Warwick School Story.
Key dates in the history of Warwick School
914
Reputed date of Foundation.
1123
Two churches merged to run the small grammar school.
1477
Lessons were held in the old church of St John the Baptist in the Market Place.
1545
King Henry VIII re-founded the school as "The King's New Scole of Warwyke" and moved to what is now the Lord Leycester Hospital.
1697
The school moved to the disused mediaeval buildings of the Vicars Choral in St Mary's churchyard.
1871
The first time a surviving record of boys attending the school was kept, when there were c.50 pupils.
1879
The King's School was established on the Myton Road site, where it remains today.
1889
The name Warwick School was unofficially introduced, with the motto Altiora Peto.
1906
The school went bankrupt and merged with the King's Middle School in The Butts.
1946
The Governors were forced to declare Warwick School as an Independent School.
1995
The school roll reached 1,000 pupils for the first time.
2013
Gus Lock is appointed Head Master, having previously been deputy head since 2011.
2014
Warwick School celebrated its 1,100th anniversary, which included a visit by Prince Charles.
2019
King's High School relocated to the Warwick School campus, under the banner of Project One Campus. The project was officially opened during a visit by HRH Princess Anne in November 2021.
2020
The COVID-19 pandemic seriously affected all the schools on the site. Dr Deneal Smith was Head Master from 2018 to 2020, and was succeeded by James Barker (OW). In addition, the schools acquired a Principal, Richard Nicholson.





















